The Butterfly Project

A butterfly to support. Hey, I’m here if you need me. 🙂

Hi Lovelies!

This may be confusing, as the title is filed under “the love project” category, but anyway, this is about the Butterfly Project.

Here’s the truth:

I once was a cutter. I admitted this to only very few people, because it was shameful, and they all told me to stop. I am one of the lucky ones who managed to get out of cutting before it got bad. I haven’t cut in over three years. ( Yay, me!)

Frankly, I stopped because back then, I knew someone who was also a cutter, and the cuts that that person made was deeper than that of mine. I realized how harmful it was and I had to take care of that person. It didn’t do much for my own depression, having to take care of someone else, but it did make me stop harming myself.

Now, the Butterfly Project isn’t mine. Actually, it’s been there a long time…But i saw it on Tumblr again the other day, and I wanted to share it with you.

The Butterfly Project has been created for self-harmers who feel they are ready to stop and need the motivation or support to do so.

The idea is simple. The self-harmer simply draws a butterfly on their place(s) of self-harm and, if the butterfly fades without them self-harming, it means it has lived and flown away, giving them a sense of achievement. Whereas if they do self-harm with the butterfly there; they will have to wash it off. If that does happen, they can start again by drawing a new one on.

Here are the rules:

1. When you feel like you want to cut, take a marker, pen, or sharpies and draw a butterfly on your arm or hand.

2. Name the butterfly after a loved one, or someone that really wants you to get better.

3. You must let the butterfly fade naturally. NO scrubbing it off.

4. If you cut before the butterfly is gone, you’ve killed it. If you dont cut, it lives.

5. If you have more than one butterfly, cutting kills all of them.

6. Another person may draw them on you. These butterflies are extra special. Take good care of them.

7. Even if you don’t cut, feel free to draw a butterfly anyways, to show your support. If you do this, name it after someone you know that cuts or is suffering right now, and tell them. It could help.

You never know who’s hurting.

Remember that you are loved.

I would love to know what you think

