Someone Fabulous: Marilyn Monroe

Actress, singer, model, film producer, that is Norma Jeane Mortenson.

She had her share of hardships in life, but later pushed passed that and started her career as a model, and later on, an actress.  Hailed as the sixth greatest female star of all time by the American Film Institute, she is remembered the pop and cultural icon, and the quintessential American sex symbol, Marilyn Monroe.

Here are some words to live by from this blonde bombshell:

  • A career is wonderful, but you can’t curl up with it on a cold night.

  • First, I’m trying to prove to myself that I’m a person. Then maybe I’ll convince myself that I’m an actress.

  • Hollywood is a place where they’ll pay you a thousand dollars for a kiss and fifty cents for your soul.

  • I don’t mind living in a man’s world as long as I can be a woman in it.

  • I don’t mind making jokes, but I don’t want to look like one.

  • I don’t want to make money, I just want to be wonderful.

  • I have feelings too. I am still human. All I want is to be loved, for myself and for my talent.

  • No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they’re pretty, even if they aren’t.

  • I knew I belonged to the public and to the world, not because I was talented or even beautiful, but because I had never belonged to anything or anyone else.

  • I restore myself when I’m alone.

  • I’m very definitely a woman and I enjoy it.

  • I’ve never dropped anyone I believed in.

  • If I’d observed all the rules, I’d never have got anywhere.

  • If I’m a star, then the people made me a star.

  • It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone – so far.

  • It’s often just enough to be with someone. I don’t need to touch them. Not even talk. A feeling passes between you both. You’re not alone.

 Happy Birthday Marilyn Monroe!

I would love to know what you think

