Third of Thirteen Reasons Why

timthumb

Your Future.

I know that some of us feel like there’s no future to look forward to. Especially when all our big plans fail—or when we have absolutely no idea yet what our “plans” are.

At some point, we will feel lost. I know I did at some point.

What got to me was when others got to have my dream-come-true when they didn’t want it half as much as I did. I mean, we’re talking about the only thing I ever wanted since I was six. And I’m talking about something I want more than my happily ever after with a prince on a white horse (although I honestly think princes and white horses don’t go together since I adore black Arabians).

Here’s the deal: Happiness is a journey.

So is the future.

If it scares you that you have no idea how to get there, then take it one day at a time. You’ll figure it out somehow.

If you think you have no way to get there, ask yourself if you’re so screwed that you’re in rock bottom.

If you are, then there’s no other way to go but up, right?

If things could still get worse, then you still had it better compared to others. If others who have had it worse than you can still find the strength to get up in the morning, then you sure the heck can.

The future is such an abstract, scary thing. It’s scary to think of what can happen.

But you know what? The future is also one of the most beautiful things to look forward to. Can you imagine who you will be years from now, or how you will turn out to be? You would not want to miss out on that.

I found this quote somewhere that you should probably think about.

Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which one has overcome while trying to succeed.

—   Booker T. Washington

What are you looking forward to?

I would love to know what you think

