Ninth of Thirteen Reasons Why

timthumb

You can choose to be happy.

If you noticed, this is the same premise of the homepage of this blog.

There are two sides to everything. You could choose to look at the bad side or the good. Look at the glass half empty or half full.

Even on very dreary days, there are silver linings.

I know those words are clichés, but they are pretty much applicable to life.

When life gives you lemons on an especially rough day, make lemonade. Or grab the bottle of tequila if it’s a cold night, but not if you don’t know how to limit your alcohol intake.

Find the things that make you happy and focus on them. Work for them and turn them into your motivations, even the most mundane ones.

Or use them to distract you from the problems, even for awhile.

On bad days, I get ice cream to cool my head. Or I read as a form of escapism. Ice cream and books are among the list of things that never fail to cheer me up (unless the book is really badly written, pretty much what I had to deal with at work). So, no matter how mundane they may be, and I can’t give up on life when I still have those small bursts of happiness to keep me going.

And especially can’t give up when I still want to save the tigers from extinction. I’d be so, so happy when that happens.

The thing is you just have to remember that you can choose to be happy, so when you feel like you’re falling into an abyss, reach out and grab hold of the smallest things. It can make all the difference.

I would love to know what you think

