Hopes and Dreams and All the Little Things

I was one of those girls, one of those who wanted to be a princess when she was a child, and I was one of those girls who dreamed of my happy ever after.

original.jpg (500×349)

Then, when I was eight, I said to myself, “I want to be a writer. I’m going to sell a best-seller someday.” I came to that conclusion because I loved reading for a grand total of three years, and I wanted to be like Francine Pascal, or Ann M. Martin, but better.

Back then, I also said to myself that I wanted to go to Paris, because I read a Sweet Valley Teens book, Mademoiselle Jessica, it was called. And I looked up Paris on the then VERY slow internet, and it was beautiful.

Today, I’m still stuck on that novel that was supposed to be my bestseller. The most I have, is a fifty-odd-plus pages of plots and stories, nowhere near as good as I wanted it to be. I still have no savings to go to the one city I wanted to be in more than I wanted to be a princess as a child. And I’m still nowhere near my happily ever after.

But it didn’t really matter, not yet, because I’m building my dreams around more things that I could even begin to imagine. Unconsciously, I began building my dreams around something, and someone.

Sometimes, things like that happen, and if everything turns out peachy, then it’s great. But what if, just what if, you built your dreams around something that you can lose, or someone who is willing to let you go? Or what if, your happily ever after isn’t the one that you imagined it to be?

You hope that one day things will turn out as they’re planned. And then you fight for everything to turn out the way you wanted them to. You build your life around them, and you fight to keep the life you want. It takes a lot of work, and a lot of drama, and it takes more than faith and trust, and pixie dust, but you fight.

And if things don’t turn out the way they should, you alter your dreams and make the most out of everything. The big and the grand can sometimes lead us to fall, but we keep reaching for the stars anyway, and maybe, just maybe, one day, we can reach them when we learn how to fly.

I would love to know what you think

