Weight Issues, Self Esteem, and Every Other Issue I Should Have Had as a Teen

When I was a teenager, I had no issues about that biggest time in my life. I was pretty, smart, and mostly I can eat all I want without gaining any weight. While other girls had pimples, my face was clear, and people even ask me outright how I keep my skin looking so glowy.

And then comes adulthood, work, stress, pollution, and real heartbreak that made my high school and college dramas seem like a page out of a Sweet Valley novel. Twins, not SVH.

Of course, there are some issues that I have to let go of, not necessarily about the heartbreak part, but they are just unhealthy in so many ways. For instance, this brand of depression had me eating like a snake eating an elephant and gave me a stunning 10-kg weight gain. Last I checked. I am seriously afraid to go near a weighing scale now.

It’s been two years since college, and looking back, the girl I was in college was so different compared to the person I am now. I’m happy to say that I wasn’t as bad as I was in high school, but I am definitely far from the happy (ish) and confident girl that I was in college.

I know I’ve been saying that happiness is a choice, and I have been saying that for the past year and a half, but it’s a bit hard to do so right now, so I’m just going to have to take it a day at a time.

I think this is the case of having a late reaction to adolescence. 😦

I would love to know what you think

