The Smell of the City In the Rain

Two things that I love: a good storm, and the city I live in. So when I’m at home, I want to feel like a burrito, snuggled in my sheets, preferably with a good book and a hot cup of coffee.

Then there are European things and good movies — a third and a fourth in the list of things that I love.

So what is a girl to do when they’re showing good Euro films at the mall for free, but it’s raining cats and dogs and lions and antelopes?

Go out in the rain, that’s what.

I should mention here that I do not own an umbrella. I’m an “embrace the sun” and “dance in the rain” type of person, so sue me.

Anyway.

So I went out in the rain, and got drenched to the bone. The worse part is that there are no cabs, so I had to take the jeep.

A fifth in the list of things that I love is the smell of earth and grass in the rain — a smell that is missing when you live in a city with really bad drainage.

BV8FKNaCMAE69yD

The next time it floods, I’ll try to get a better picture. I only had my phone with me and people might think I’m crazy to take pictures of flooding for Instagram.

The water is about shin-deep near my brother’s school. And it’s brown and smells of garbage. You know when you get in a car and the air freshener sometimes rush to your nose and into your system and it gives you a sudden headache? The bad smell had that effect on me in the open jeep, so you really can’t run away from it.

Ew.

The unfortunate thing is the only few hundred meters with this kind of flooding in the general area. Except for downtown, which I shudder to think about.

And as usual, with the kind of luck that I have about the weather, the rain stopped when I got inside the mall. Not three minutes before, which is the length of time it will take for me to sprint through the drop-off and through the terraces. No, it had to stop AFTER I got inside the mall. Drenched like a drowned puppy.

Fortunately, though, the good, good movies made it worth it, and I did not wake up with pneumonia or anything.

I might write reviews about the movies, but they will all have to come later.

Happy beginning of the week!

Love,
IMG_6586

I would love to know what you think

